Delayed Contact

 

The Daily Prompt: Delayed Contact.How would you get along with your sibling(s), parent(s), or any other person you’ve known for a long time — if you only met them for the first time today?

 

Firstly I would be a very different person without these people in my life. So I cannot really guess how I would react in such a scenario.

Now that I know these people for a long time, I know what their tastes and moods are like. I know how to piss them off or cheer ’em up. Having said that some habits of my closed ones irritate me. That is not because I hate those habits. It is only because I am bored to hell. But if I find a stranger with these habits, ironically, I get along with them very well.

As of now I can’t conjure up much about how I would feel. Mainly because I don’t exactly know the built-up to this day. Do I already know that I am going to meet them today or will I just run into them or was i avoiding them for some reason! I guess this matters a lot.

But I must confess that I liked all those movies where there were these classic reunions between lost children and parents. The topic also reminds me of Drew Barrymore’s “50 First Dates” in which she suffers from short-term memory loss. I like the movie for what her family does to make her feel better and how Adam Sandler reinvents himself daily to win a place in her life.

Finally, in math terminology, if I reflect the given scenario over a mirror, I will end up with a situation where I will meet someone today, with whom I will be spending a long time in the future. Definitely I am looking forward to this instance!

2 thoughts on “Delayed Contact

Leave a Reply

