Soulful Machines

 

The Daily Prompt: Soulful Machines. Machines, appliances, and gadgets sometimes feel like they have their own personalities — from quirky cars to dignified food processors. What’s the most “human” machine you own?

 

We have known each other for almost a decade now. I remember the first day we met. It was surreal. It was as if you were waiting for me. We became so good friends so fast that my family started feeling jealous and started complaining. But I heeded to none.

We studied together. We watched movies together. We played hours of games together. We spent many nights together. You made me laugh. You made me cry. Hence You knew every twist and turn in my life. You made me meet some awesome people. You were my wing-man. You gave me strength. But you were my weakness too. You were there for me through my thick and thin. Thank you for being so patient and kind to me – qualities which are fast evaporating from my world.

Now You have grown old. You have become slow. You have lost couple of your tooth. You cough too. All my friends who were awed at you, now feel irritated with you. But my dear friend don’t worry. I am there for you. Others don’t get the relationship we share. I understand you perfectly. Unlike old days I don’t let you stay awake all night. We don’t play many games either. I no longer take you in my journeys because I fear that you may break a limb. May be, I have become over protective about you. I don’t let any stranger near you. I shoo the kids away from you.

Despite this waning, I must say, You are lucky my friend. You are not a human. Unlike us, you need not grow senile and bite the dust. You can be rejuvenated. I have spoken to the docs at Lenovo Care. They will be able to fix your tooth, fix your speed and fix your cough. It is only a matter of time. You will regain your charm. But we both know that our relationship is beyond these facades. I can feel it. My only regret is that You don’t say it.

(A tribute to my first and only laptop – Lenovo 3000 N100)

Leave a Reply

