Shrink Me!

After two days of nerve racking football (or soccer) transfer deadline frenzy I return to the solace of wordpress! So, what do we have today?

The Daily Prompt: Zoltar’s Revenge. In a reversal of Big, the Tom Hanks classic from the 80s, your adult self is suddenly locked in the body of a 12-year-old kid. How do you survive your first day back in school?

Unfortunately, I have not seen the movie. From today’s description and reading other’s posts, I could infer that it is me shrinking to my 12 year old self, except for the brain.

This going back thought is really interesting. I may well be like Matt Damon in “Good Will Hunting”, making all the teachers and students go crazy with my superior IQ. I would surely, this time, not shy away from talking to girls. Having discovered my love already, I would take baby steps in that direction, hence avoiding a midlife crisis!

But wait!

With so many changes in the past decade this pseudo-12-year-old may have to suffer from nostalgia. Even though internet has encroached into our lives, I would still prefer not to use it excessively and obsessively. Now, I don’t find many empty places or parks to play cricket or football. Back then the apartment way of living was never heard of. Now it is the norm. Families are piled one over the other for a hefty price. Now fathers are extremely busy and work far off and say hello only over Skype. Gone are those days of waiting for Dad to come home. Now this was the Rip van Winkle side of me, yearning for the past and detesting the present. Bye bye Matt Damon!

And bye for now! I would like to sleep again!

Leave a Reply

