Pains = Gains + Greatness

 

The Daily Prompt: Pains and Gains. Do you agree with Jane Fonda’s favorite exercise motto, “no pain, no gain?” Is it impossible to attain greatness without considerable hardship?

 

Firstly, what do you consider as great? Who comes to your mind when you hear of greatness?

For me, many people from various disciplines and fields pop up. Like Sachin, Zizou, Gandhi, Lincoln, AR Rehman and the list goes on.

Now I take a step back. I think again. What about my parents? my teachers? my friends in dark times? the army that guards many like me day and night? the heroes in newspaper stories who try earnestly to meet the ends? Hmmm…I feel these people too are equally great.

Being a student of math I can’t resist to compare the concept of greatness with that of infinity. Greatness is just like infinity. When I first ask school kids what infinity is, they try to tell me a very big number like 999999….999. But if I ask them what is the next real number after 1, they realise that it is impossible to tell; it can be 1.01 or 1.001 or 1.0000001. There is an infinity next to 1 too. So greatness, like infinity, is right next to us or so far away from us. Greatness, like beauty, lies in the eyes of the beholder. The moment I spot greatness I have a solid reason to back it. More often that reason hovers around the breathtaking persistence, consistency and dedication on the part of the doer! They may be my sporting heroes playing with broken bones or artists practicing innumerable hours to reach perfection or my parents and teachers ensuring right ambiance for my development or my friends who stick by me beyond rationality – all these people suffered pain – physically or emotionally  or both – to earn a place in the top drawer of my heart. And yes, without pain there is no gain!

4 thoughts on “Pains = Gains + Greatness

  1. Pingback: It's Mayur Remember?

  2. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Sacrifice” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

